Home > Comics, Reviews > RIP Carol Danvers

RIP Carol Danvers

ms-marvel-37-0182And that was it: in a couple of flashes of blinding light, Carol Danvers goes bye-byes (in the recent issue of Ms. Marvel, #37 for those who care.)

I’ll put my hands up and say that one of the main reasons for liking Ms. Marvel was always her connection to the X-Men: I never knew who she was ’til watching the 90s animated series and the episode that explained Rogue’s powers. I also had a few Ms. Marvel cards back when I collected the trading card deck (I think that was ’92…I would’ve been 7, I’m allowed not know who she is at age 7.)

Anyway, Carol Danvers has always been one of my favourite non-mutant characters in comics. She was pretty powerful, had the ties to other characters…it just made sense for her to be so awesome. So her getting her own series after “House of M” was a highpoint of that series, and I’ve really liked what Brian Reed’s done with her. She’s a soldier, always has been, and I really liked how he managed to combine that with her attempts to be a superhero, to be human, to have a life. And now, if the name of the arc and the art below has proven ms-marvel-382correct…well, she’s gone, after a somewhat harrowing…well, I’m going to call it ‘illness’ 😦

But with the way things are going with the Marvel Universe, with Dark Reign in full swing, Karla Sofen has taken over the mantle of Ms. Marvel, it makes me wonder if things will stay the same, or all will be changed, changed utterly (a terrible beauty is born, and all that jazz.)

Categories: Comics, Reviews Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

