Home > Reviews, TV > You Lead, I’ll Follow

You Lead, I’ll Follow

lost-season-5-promoSo…what do I say about “Lost” that hasn’t been said before? 

Well, let me start with saying that I take back everything I ever said about it: I know I mentioned “Lost” before on this blog, but I should acknowledge the fact that I’ve only been feeling the “Lost-love for a little over a year now, and only really started watching it properly at the beginning of season four. All that said, thanks to the osmosis of the internet, I still know what was going on. I know everything, see?

So, “Follow The Leader,” also known as “the penultimate episode of season five” (when they’re showing the next two epiosdes together back-to-back, they’re not allowed to consider them two separate episodes.) Everything goes behind the cut to save you from the smoke monster spoilers.

I have to say, while it was a very cool episode, it didn’t quite have the effect that I expected with it being the penultimate episode, and especially after what happened in “The Variable.” There’s still a lot of lead-up for the finale, but pay-offs in this episode were pretty sparse.

On the list of pros, we had some Others action, some Eloise-dealing-with-Daniel’s-death-and-all-that-time-fuckery action, and some killer dialogue, mostly involving Juliet and Ben.

And then there’s Jack (and Kate)…I don’t think I’ve ever hated two characters more. Okay, maybe hate isn’t the right word, but c’mon, in this episode especially, they were both totally boring and inconsequential. I’d actually have cared more if it was just Richard and Eloise going around being all other-ly. Kate’s sole purpose this season (well, since they’ve returned to the island, anyway) has been to stir up trouble for (and between) Juliet and Sawyer: it’s funny that they could only get her away from them for one episode before teaming them up again. And it’s not like we have any reason to want her to break them up anyway (much love for…Julieyer? Sawyiet? They need a proper noun that refers to them…)

All the Locke stuff going on in the present…well, again, it felt just a little bit rushed: not in the bad way, but they’re obviously leading up to something to include in the finale. Of course, I’m pretty sure that it’s because he’s dead, and his body’s in the box that Ilana’s trying to open. But then…well, we have to wonder why Locke’s on his way to kill the Batman Jacob. Yes, perhaps Locke is the Joker…okay, no, that came out of nowehere. But it would be kinda cool…

Anyway, I’m eagerly awaiting next week’s finale and season six, whenever that starts. I wish it was the week after 😦

Categories: Reviews, TV Tags: , , ,
  1. May 12, 2009 at 1:42 PM

    I have so much to catch up on….from half way through Season 2 until now……….. by the by, did you ever catch that new Spiderman Cartoon from the states….best animated TV I’ve seen in years!

    • burnallzombies
      May 12, 2009 at 3:26 PM

      Really, I should play catch-up too: only started watching it around the start of season 4, but I’ve managed to pick a lot of stuff up. Or else just poking Dan til he tells me who people are and what’s going on…

      As for Spider-man, yeah, I’ve seen some of it: it’s written by Brian Bendis who’s writing the Ultimate comics, so it’s pretty faithful to the comics but cool. If you like that, you should really check out Wolverine & The X-Men too, it’s pretty close to the 90s series in terms of fanboyish nods.

  2. May 11, 2009 at 9:03 PM

    Talking of killer dialogue, Hurley and Dr Chang was priceless. “When were you born?” “So, you’re 46?”. Add that to Hurley and Miles talk about time travel a few episodes back and you soon realise Hurley gets some awesome dialogue!

    • burnallzombies
      May 11, 2009 at 9:22 PM

      Don’t forget that Hurley also gets to sit there reading “Y: The Last Man,” which gets a hell of a lot of kudos (and also the not-so-subtle in-joke, since Brian K. Vaughan writes it.) I’ll put up a poll after the finale for who gets the best dialogue, Ben or Hurley.

  3. Hedgie
    May 9, 2009 at 9:59 AM

    I personally like “Sawliet” but that’s just me. I wholeheartedly agree about Jack and Kate though. Me and Bows have hated Kate since day one; most irritating character ever. Much love to Evangeline, great actress, hot girl etc but fuck – could JJ and Damon have created a more annoying, whiny and utterly hateable fuck-bag?

    Probably, but they’d have to try pretty hard.

    This ep was good, not great but good. Had a few decent moments and a few revelations or at least confirmations of things we as the audience have suspected for the better part of a year.

    • burnallzombies
      May 9, 2009 at 11:52 AM

      I’m just waiting to see Juliet bitch-slap Kate…I think I’ll enjoy it when it happens, and hopefully will be soon.

      I was similarly “not great but good” about this…some good stuff, but there was a light of holding off for the finale. Which better be worth it. That John Locke had murder in his eye.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

