Home > Movies, Trailers > Robs From The Rich, Gives To The Poor

Robs From The Rich, Gives To The Poor

I haven’t been able to find much information on the live-action Goemon movie, save for an ultra-short synopsis. The film is supposedly based on legend of Goemon Ishikawa, a 16th century bandit hero, and the Robin Hood comparison’s are surprisingly appropriate. But it’s not necessarily the story that’s making me want to watch Goemon: honestly, Disney’s Robin Hood killed any interest I could ever hold in the character, and don’t ask me to explain why, because I can’t.

What’s piqued my interest is that Goemon is directed by Kazuaki Kiriya, who also directed 2004’s Casshern. Honestly, I don’t remember much about the film from when it released, and only watched it after seeing the DVD on sale and deciding it looked interesting. I was proven right, and the film graduated to becoming one of my favourites, not just because of the vibrant scenery, extra-enhanced colours and effects, but because it has a genuinely moving and interesting story.

My interest in seeing Goemon is to see these strands come together once more, and I can only hope that it proves as effective as Casshern: judging from the trailers, the two films are stylistically similar. The film has already been released in native Japan, even airing at this year’s Cannes Festival (colour me jealous) but there’s no word on either a cinema or DVD release in Europe or the US. But as soon as I find out, I’ll be announcing it to anyone who’ll listen.

The trailer for Casshern is below,with some explanatory subtitles,  just in case you fancy checking it out.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

